Louisiana Wins Fourth Straight Junior River Cup

Alexandria, LA    September 15, 2019

Team Louisiana was victorious in the ninth annual Junior River Cup on Sunday in Alexandria. The final day was full of excitement and drama. Team Louisiana held a 3 point lead entering Sunday’s singles matches after amassing 11 1/2 points in Saturday’s Four-Ball and Foursome matches. Needing to secure 8.5 points to retain the cup, Team Louisiana had to hang tough and play hard to get the win. When the dust settled, Team Louisiana tallied 12 points on Sunday, winning 10 of the 20 singles matches and earning half a point in four matches. It wasn’t easily done however; Team Mississippi battled and seven matches went all 18 holes. At the end of the day however, the Junior River Cup was Louisiana’s again with a winning score of 23.5-16.5.

The Junior River Cup is an annual Ryder Cup style event against Mississippi that was established in 2011. The two teams play Four-Ball (Better-Ball) and Foursome (Alternate Shot) match-play on Saturday. Then finish with Singles matches on Sunday. The teams consist of 20 players broken down with four players in different age groups. Boys 10-11 years old, boys 12-13 years old, boys 14-15 years old, boys 16-18 years old and girls 13-18 years old. This year’s Junior River Cup was conducted at Links on the Bayou in Alexandria, LA.  Next year’s Junior River Cup will be hosted by Mississippi with a site yet to be determined.

Team Louisiana Members are listed below:

Kaitlyn Montoya (Shreveport)                                                                    Sydney Moss (Shreveport)

Cassidy Lambert (Gretna)                                                                             Sarah Hodson (Raceland)

Logan Heltz (Abita Springs)                                                                          Hudson Partin (Denham Springs)

Noah Chauvin (Broussard)                                                                           Jeff Drury IV (Belle Chasse)

Noah McWilliams (Benton)                                                                          Eli Hill (Bossier City)

Walter Anderson III (Baton Rouge)                                                           Boyd Owens (Baton Rouge)

Connor Cassano (Shreveport)                                                                     Charlie Bell (Shreveport)

Ashton Cruse (Columbia)                                                                              Campbell Gosslee (Shreveport)

Nicholas Arcement (Thibodaux)                                                                BJ Rogillio (Baton Rouge)

Gage Burnham (Haynesville)                                                                       Karan Patel (Alexandria)


Click here to view the final match results.