September 13, 2019     Alexandria, LA

Links on the Bayou is once again the setting for a fantastic showcase of junior golf in Louisiana. The links style course in Alexandria annually ranks as one of the best municipal courses in the state, and it is in excellent condition for the 9th playing of the Junior River Cup this weekend. The Junior River Cup is an annual Ryder Cup style event that pits twenty of the best junior golfers from Louisiana against Mississippi’s twenty best junior golfers. Team Louisiana looks to retain possession of the Junior River Cup with a fourth straight victory.

The two teams will play Four-Ball (Better-Ball) match play on Saturday morning and Foursome (Alternate Shot) match play on Saturday afternoon. Singles matches will take place on Sunday. Each Four-Ball, Foursome, and Singles match will be worth one point each, and a tied match will be awarded ½ point to each side. In all, 40 points are up for grabs in the competition. The first team to reach 20 ½ points wins the Junior River Cup. Should the matches end in a 20-20 tie, the winning team from the previous Junior River Cup, in this case Team Louisiana, retains the Junior River Cup. The teams consist of 20 players comprised of four players in the following age groups: Boys 10-11, 12-13, 14-15, and 16-18 years old and Girls 13-18 years old. Team Louisiana was selected by using the player of the year points standings for the newly establish Louisiana Junior Golf Tour, a collaboration of the Gulf States PGA Section and the Louisiana Golf Association.

This is the first time that Links on the Bayou will host the Junior River Cup. The Mike Young designed track has hosted the LGA Junior Amateur Championship three times previously (2012, 2014, and 2016). It will also host the 2020 LGA Junior Amateur and U.S. Amateur Championship Sectional Qualifier. Head Golf Professional Trevor Lloyd has done a tremendous job promoting junior golf and helping to grow the game in our state.

Click here to follow Saturday’s matches.

Team Louisiana Members are listed below:

Kaitlyn Montoya (Shreveport)                                                                   

Sydney Moss (Shreveport)

Cassidy Lambert (Gretna)                                                                           

Sarah Hodson (Raceland)

Logan Heltz (Abita Springs)                                                                       

Hudson Partin (Denham Springs)

Noah Chauvin (Broussard)                                                                         

Jeff Drury IV (Belle Chasse)

Noah McWilliams (Benton)                                                                       

Eli Hill (Bossier City)

Walter Anderson III (Baton Rouge)                                                           

Boyd Owens (Baton Rouge)

Connor Cassano (Shreveport)                                                                   

Charlie Bell (Shreveport)

Ashton Cruse (Columbia)                                                                         

Campbell Gosslee (Shreveport)

Nicholas Arcement (Thibodaux)                                                               

BJ Rogillio (Baton Rouge)

Gage Burnham (Haynesville)                                                                   

 Karan Patel (Alexandria)