Calhoun, Louisiana – September 17, 2021

Calvert Crossing in Calhoun, Louisiana will play host to the 11th Junior River Cup this weekend.  The Junior River Cup is an annual Ryder Cup style event that pits twenty of the best junior golfers in Louisiana against the twenty best from Mississippi. Calvert Crossing is playing host to this event after Hurricane Ida caused a location change from Mandeville. A sincere thanks goes to Calvert Crossing owner and LGA Board member Todd Perry, GM Kevin LaFontaine, and the entire Calvert Crossing membership for stepping up and hosting this event on short notice! The LGA appreciates their support, and we are excited to showcase this wonderful facility this weekend. The all time Junior River Cup series is tied 5-5, with Mississippi winning five straight from 2011-15 and Louisiana winning five consecutive from 2016-2020. Team Louisiana looks to retain possession of the Junior River Cup with a sixth straight victory.

The two teams will play Four-Ball (Better-Ball) match play, Saturday morning and Foursome (Alternate Shot) match play on Saturday afternoon. Singles matches will take place on Sunday. Each Four-Ball, Foursome, and Singles match will be worth one point each, a tied match will be awarded ½ point to each side. In all, 40 points are up for grabs in the competition. The first team to reach 20 ½ points wins the Junior River Cup. Should the matches end in a 20-20 tie, the winning team from the previous Junior River Cup retains the Junior River Cup. The teams consist of 20 players broken down with four players in different age groups. Boys 10-11 years old, boys 12-13 years old, boys 14-15 years old, boys 16-18 years old and girls 13-18 years old. Team Louisiana was selected by using the player of the year points standings from the Louisiana Junior Golf Tour along with one Tournament Committee Selection.

Team Louisiana Members are listed below:

Sarah Meral (Abita Springs)                                                               Sophia Macias (Denham Springs)

Isabella Callaba (Lake Charles)                                                           Aubrey Stark (Abita Springs)

Hudson Greene (Bossier City)                                                            Wayne Kabrich (Mandeville)

Willie Johnson (Baton Rouge)                                                            Parker Greene (Mandeville)

Logan Heltz (Abita Springs)                                                               Hudson Partin (Denham Springs)

Slayte Guidry (Logansport)                                                                Ben Blanco (Broussard)

Drew Sliman (Lafayette)                                                                     James Holtsclaw (Shreveport)

Grant Reagan (Shreveport)                                                                 Ashton Cruse (Columbia)

Ethan Dial (Shreveport)                                                                      Riley Hnatyshyn (Abita Springs)

Eli Hill (Bossier City)                                                                            Noah McWilliams (Benton)