Shreveport, LA           July 5, 2022

Mike Ameen of Shreveport has been named recipient of the Louisiana Golf Association’s Distinguished Service Award for 2022. The award was initiated in 1984 by the LGA to honor individuals who have contributed to the betterment of the game in Louisiana. Ameen was honored with the award at the 65th Louisiana Junior and 56th Louisiana Girls’ Junior Amateur Championships annual dinner on Tuesday evening, July 5 at East Ridge Country Club in Shreveport.

“The game of golf has been a source of pure enjoyment throughout my adult life and therefore I was blessed when I was asked several years ago to serve on the LGA Board,” said Ameen. “My service on the board has allowed me to give back in a small way to the game that has been so good to me. It has been a privilege to work with two wonderful Executive Directors, Carr McCalla and Logan Ray and many outstanding board members. It is truly an honor to be recognized by my peers for this award and I am deeply humbled.”  

Ameen’s selection is a testament to the tireless work that he has done on behalf of the game. He served on the LGA Board of Directors from 2005 to 2012 and held the position of President from 2010 to 2012. After departing for a term as required by the LGA by-laws, Ameen was once again called to serve on the LGA Board of Directors from 2016 to 2022. It was clear that the LGA needed a progressive leader during a time of transition into a new era of golf in Louisiana, and Ameen was the one the association called on to lead the charge. He was elected President and re-elected to close out his final four years on the LGA Board and served in that role fervently from February 2018 – February 2022.

“Mike embodies the selflessness and stewardship that the LGA’s Distinguished Service Award is all about. He is a tremendous ambassador for the game, and he has helped advance golf in Louisiana for decades… from junior golf to the LGA’s unification with the Louisiana Women’s Golf Association, Mike has made a positive impact on and off the course. His exceptional leadership, business acumen, and forward-thinking abilities were tremendous assets for us during his time as LGA President. He continues to serve the game in a number of different ways and is most deserving of this award,” said LGA Executive Director Logan Ray. “We are proud to recognize Mike for his incredible achievements and contributions to the game.”

Ameen joins current LGA President Mary Capouch (2005 DSA), John Luffey (2014 DSA), and Lew Ward (2019 DSA) as former LGA Presidents to receive the honor. Ameen is a member of three Louisiana Golf Association clubs: East Ridge Country Club, Southern Trace Country Club, and Squire Creek Country Club.

Ameen’s professional resume and list of accolades is even more extensive than his work in golf. It is amazing that he finds the time to contribute as much as he does, but the Louisiana golf community is certainly better for it. He is a graduate of Centenary College of Louisiana with a Bachelor of Science Degree in Accounting. He is a Certified Public Accountant and is a member of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants and the Louisiana Society of CPAs. He has over 40 years of experience in financial reporting, treasury, finance and risk management. Ameen currently sits on the board of several closely held companies.


List of previous LGA Distinguished Service Award recipients:


1984 W.E. “Winnie” Cole      1985 Mike Barbato                 1986 Henry Thomas


1987 Bill Bass                         1988 Freddie Haas, Jr.            1989 Frank Leach


1990 Tommy Wulff                1991 Albert Hand                   1992 Emile Zachariah


1993 Jim McGonagill             1993 Walter Fowler                1994 John Fister


1995 Bob DeMoss                  1996 Luca Barbato                 1997 Oree Marsalis


1998 Johnny Myers                1999 Frank Gumpert              2000 Frank Mackel


2001 John Pruitt                      2002 Charles Dugas                2003 Jay Pierson


2003 Jim Pierson                    2004 Lionel Hebert                 2005 Mary Capouch


2006 Ronnie Melancon          2007 Joseph Bartholomew     2008 J. Michael Veron


2009 Stuart Braud                   2011 Jimmy Headrick             2012 Debbie Rivers


2012 Jim Rivers                      2014 John Luffey                    2015 Kelly Gibson


2017 Mike Rodrigue               2018 Carr McCalla                 2019 Lew Ward


2020 Dr. John Hendry