Lafayette, LA | October 28, 2020


The Louisiana Junior Golf Tour is pleased to award its 2020 Boys’ Player of the Year to Riley Hnatyshyn of Abita Springs and 2020 Girls’ Player of the Year to Kaitlyn Montoya of Shreveport. Both players won two events this year to solidify them at the top of the standings.


Montoya won her second consecutive POY award in her final season of junior golf. Montoya finished 50 points ahead of Sarah Meral of Abita Springs and 85 points ahead of Sarah Hodson of Raceland. Montoya started off her season with an excellent showing at the 92nd Louisiana Women’s Amateur Championship where she lost a close match in the semi-final round the to the eventual Champion Lisa Bissett. Montoya would go on to finish in the top 6 in each of her next 4 events including her two wins at The University Club and The David Toms Junior Championship. Montoya is now in her freshman season at The University of Louisiana Monroe as a member of the Women’s Golf Team.


The Boys’ Player of the year was another tight race for the second consecutive year, which saw Riley Hnatyshyn edge out the 2019 POY Eli Hill of Bossier City by just 6.67 points and Eli Ortego of Broussard by 16.67 points. Hnatyshyn started off his season with a top 10 finish at the Sam Burns Junior Four-Ball Championship. In June, Hnatyshyn would make the cut at the 101st Louisiana Amateur Championship at Bayou Oaks at City Park. Hnatyshyn would then go on to win the LJGT at Chateau and LJGT at Squire Creek events along with a 6th place finish at the David Toms Junior Championship. At just 16 years old, Hnatyshyn has an excellent opportunity to repeat as the Junior Player of the Year in 2021.


Registration for the 2021 Louisiana Junior Golf Tour Membership will open on November 9th, 2020 as well as the registration for the 2021 Sam Burns Junior Four-Ball Championship at Squire Creek Country Club.


It was an outstanding 2020 season for both of our Junior Players of the Year and the future is bright for Kaitlyn and Riley.  Congratulations to these players!


Click here to view final LJGT Player of the Year points.