Eric Lavespere Leads After First Round at 32nd Louisiana Senior Amateur Championship

Lafayette, Louisiana               May 6, 2021

Eric Lavespere of Monroe, who finished as the runner-up in last year’s Championship, shot a two-under par 70 on Thursday to take the first-round lead in the 32nd Louisiana Senior Amateur Championship.  Lavespere, who finished in second place to Benton’s Robby McWilliams at Kinder’s Koasati Pines last year, began his round at 1:03 in the afternoon off #10, posting book-end nines of 35 with birdies on #13, #1, and #2.  His lone bogey came at the par-four 8th, his next to last hole of the day.  2015 Champion Tommy Brennan, playing in the morning wave, shot a one-under par 71, firing a two-under 34 on the front, then parring the first eight holes on the back before finishing with a bogey on the difficult par-four 18th to finish first round play in second place.  Alone in third at even-par 72 was Jeff Calloway of Baton Rouge.  Calloway had nines of 36-36, with three birdies, three pars, and three bogeys on each side.  Alexandria’s Lewis Lauve is in fourth place after shooting one-over par 73.  Rounding out the top nine at two-over par 74 were; 2011 and 2018 Champion Rod Baronet of Lecompte, Jeff D’Amico of Lafayette, Grady Brame of Hammond, Don Duet of Galliano, and Scott Haynie of Brusly.

Two-time defending champion Robby McWilliams (2019 at Money Hill G & CC, 2020 at Koasati Pines) of Benton shot a five-over par 77 on Thursday.  Thursday’s play was conducted under beautiful cloudless skies with just the hint of a breeze.  The Oakbourne venue is drawing rave reviews from this field of the top Senior (50 years of age or older) players in Louisiana.  The course played to a par of 72 at just under 6,600 yards on Thursday.

The LGA is also conducting a Super Senior Championship (Ages 65+) the first two days over 36 holes.  Oakbourne member Robert Shelton leads the Super Senior division after first round play with a one-under par 71.  Keith Kline from Mandeville is at two-over par 74, with 2009 and 2012 Senior Champion Doug Farr of Monroe rounding out the top three at three-over 75.  Bruce Gilcrease of Denham Springs hit the shot of the day, hitting a pitching wedge exactly 112 yards to ace the par three ninth hole. Presentations for the Super Senior Championship will take place after play is completed on Friday.

Click here for First Round Results