Old Waverly in West Point, Mississippi will play host to the 10th Junior River Cup this weekend.  The Junior River Cup is an annual Ryder Cup style event that pits twenty of the best junior golfers in Louisiana against the twenty best from Mississippi. Old Waverly has hosted many prestigious tournaments and is in fantastic shape for this event. Team Louisiana looks to retain possession of the Junior River Cup with a fifth straight victory.

The two teams will play Four-Ball (Better-Ball) match play, Saturday morning and Foursome (Alternate Shot) match play on Saturday afternoon. Singles matches will take place on Sunday. Each Four-Ball, Foursome, and Singles match will be worth one point each, a tied match will be awarded ½ point to each side. In all, 40 points are up for grabs in the competition. The first team to reach 20 ½ points wins the Junior River Cup. Should the matches end in a 20-20 tie, the winning team from the previous Junior River Cup retains the Junior River Cup. The teams consist of 20 players broken down with four players in different age groups. Boys 10-11 years old, boys 12-13 years old, boys 14-15 years old, boys 16-18 years old and girls 13-18 years old. Team Louisiana was selected by using the player of the year points standings for the newly establish Louisiana Junior Golf Tour, a collaboration of the Gulf States PGA Section and the Louisiana Golf Association.

Team Louisiana Members are listed below:

Sarah Knight (Sterlington)                                                                            Sydney Moss (Shreveport)

Isabella Callaba (Lake Charles)                                                                    Sarah Meral (Abita Springs)

Hudson Green (Bossier City)                                                                        Harry Shaheen (Singer)

Noah Chauvin (Broussard)                                                                           Slayte Guidry (Frierson)

Noah McWilliams (Benton)                                                                          Eli Hill (Bossier City)

Ethan Dial (Shreveport)                                                                                 Brown Snyder (Shreveport)

Logan Heltz (Abita Springs)                                                                          James Holtsclaw (Shreveport)

Ben Blanco (Broussard)                                                                                 Jack Gilmer (Shreveport)

Bryce Sutterfield (Opelousas)                                                                     Riley Hnatyshyn (Abita Springs)

Eli Ortego (Broussard)                                                                                    Logan Batiste (Slidell)


Click here to view matches and starting times.