Brian Cheramie Honored as Louisiana Golf Association Distinguished Service Award Recipient

June 4, 2024 | Logan Ray

Baton Rouge, LA – Brian Cheramie has been named recipient of the Louisiana Golf Association’s Distinguished Service Award (DSA) for 2024. The award was initiated in 1984 by the LGA to honor individuals who have contributed to the betterment of the game in Louisiana. Cheramie will be honored with the DSA at the 105th Louisiana Amateur Championship annual dinner on Wednesday evening, June 5 at The Country Club of Louisiana in Baton Rouge. 

Cheramie is a proud native of Southeast Louisiana. He received a degree in Economics from Nicholls State University in 1974, where he also competed on the golf team. He has made a lasting impact on numerous foundations and boards in our state. LGA Board Member Michael Rodrigue, Jr. had this to say about Cheramie and the award: “Brian has been instrumental in the development of English Turn, TPC Louisiana, University Club, Bayou Oaks and La Tour. He’s been an active member of the Fore!Kids Foundation for decades and involved with the New Orleans PGA Tour and its charities since 1980. He’s a founding member of the Bayou District Foundation (which re-developed City Park / Bayou Oaks on the East Lake Model).”

Cheramie served as the 2001 Chairman of the PGA Compaq Classic of New Orleans, before assuming his role as Board Chairman for the ForeKids! Foundation that administers the Zurich Classic. In addition to the ForeKids! and Bayou District Foundations, Cheramie is a longtime Tiger Athletic Foundation (TAF). He was elected Chairman of the TAF Board of Directors and served in that capacity from 2018-21. It should be noted this also coincides with LSU’s 2019 perfect season and college football National Championship. Cheramie also served the FirstTee foundation, Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame foundation. He is one of two individuals to be awarded the Mary Mule’ Leadership award, which is voted on by the Louisiana Sportswriters Association. 

“It was an honor to call Brian and congratulate him on this prestigious award,” said LGA Executive Director Logan Ray. “Brian was humbled by this, and it’s clear he doesn’t seek recognition which makes this even more special… He embodies the selflessness and stewardship that the LGA’s Distinguished Service Award is all about, and he certainly deserves it. When you mention Brian’s name to people who have worked with him and know him personally, he always gets a glowing review and positive remarks about his character and generosity. It’s hard to imagine a man has the time to serve as many organizations as Brian has over the last few decades, but Louisiana and our golf community are undoubtedly better for it.” 

In his professional career, Brian has been owner and president of several offshore marine transportation companies supporting the oil and gas exploration industry. Cheramie is also an accomplished author. His book Louisiana Lures and Legends is highly respected by sportsmen and duck hunters. 

List of previous LGA Distinguished Service Award recipients:

1984 W.E. “Winnie” Cole      1985 Mike Barbato                 1986 Henry Thomas

1987 Bill Bass                         1988 Freddie Haas, Jr.            1989 Frank Leach

1990 Tommy Wulff                1991 Albert Hand                   1992 Emile Zachariah

1993 Jim McGonagill             1993 Walter Fowler                1994 John Fister

1995 Bob DeMoss                  1996 Luca Barbato                 1997 Oree Marsalis

1998 Johnny Myers                1999 Frank Gumpert              2000 Frank Mackel

2001 John Pruitt                      2002 Charles Dugas                2003 Jay Pierson

2003 Jim Pierson                    2004 Lionel Hebert                 2005 Mary Capouch

2006 Ronnie Melancon          2007 Joseph Bartholomew     2008 J. Michael Veron

2009 Stuart Braud                   2011 Jimmy Headrick             2012 Debbie Rivers

2012 Jim Rivers                      2014 John Luffey                    2015 Kelly Gibson

2017 Mike Rodrigue               2018 Carr McCalla                 2019 Lew Ward

2020 Dr. John Hendry 2022 Mike Ameen 2023 Scott Brame

About the LGA

The Louisiana Golf Association (LGA) is a mission-driven organization dedicated to unifying the golf community across Louisiana. Since its inception in 1920, the LGA has expanded its scope to offer a variety of championships, including the Junior Amateur Championship and the Louisiana Junior Golf Tour. The LGA is committed to providing exceptional services in Championship Administration, USGA Handicap System oversight, and Rules of Golf authority, ensuring fair play and integrity throughout the state.

The LGA supports golfers of all levels through its Course Measuring and Rating services, comprehensive tournament management, and educational seminars on the Rules of Golf and Amateur Status. By partnering with entities like the Audubon Golf Trail and Gulf States PGA, the LGA fosters growth and inclusivity in the sport.

As the authoritative body for amateur golf in Louisiana, the LGA maintains the WHS Handicap Index, crucial for assessing individual performance, and continues to uphold the game’s traditions and values. For more information, visit or contact us at 337-265-3938.

For Media Inquiries Contact:

Maili Bartz

Director of Marketing and Communications